Replay Master Class: Reconciling Tracking Performance and Respect for Privacy
Contact

Data tracking : responsibility and consent are yours

The author

Eric Dumain

Theme(s)

Published on

05-10-2021

5 minutes

Data tracking : responsibility and consent are yours

The main lever of an effective Data-Responsibility strategy is the political will of the company to commit to it in an operational, provable and sustainable way. This starts with the collection of data on websites and web apps, in other words, data tracking. What is it? How do you set it up? Here are our tips.

Reminder: being Data-Responsible

Experience shows that the absence of political commitment at the highest level of the company reduces the chances of translating a ambition Data-Responsible operationally and in tangible benefits.

Actions, facts, and metrics are critical to demonstrating commitment, and therefore results. Communicating the " Data-ethics & responsibility "This fully justifies and strengthens the company's position. It is the best guarantee of satisfaction of the needs of the customers, the Privacy teams and the Digital teams.

An GDPR compliant processing policy

Deploying responsible data tracking means defining a strategy for collecting sensitive data (cookies, tags & MarTechs) in full compliance with the GDPR. And this, according to the 3 modes of consent: accepted, ignored, rejected.

The regulations can be segmented into 59 compliance points in 4 major categories:

  • tracking technologies: presence, activation, deactivation
  • cookies: setting, value, expiration, 3rd party security, sharing
  • the datacollected: storage, encryption, locales, sessions, leakage
  • data transport: https, http headers, referrer, CSP, STS, SRI, 3rd party

Being Data-Responsible 

To be a Data Steward, you must be able to ensure consent and compliance with the Data Protection Regulation whenever data is collected or newly released. 

A simple focus on cookies only scratches the surface. This control applies to all partial releases. This is a good opportunity to deal with the subject in stages, by only slightly mobilizing the chain of contributors. The goal: to guarantee the continuity of the teams' daily operations.

Therefore, it is strongly recommended to check the validity of these practices on the entire inventory of existing sites and Apps in production. This is an obvious indicator ofpotential infringement.

Ownership & information

Think of gathering at the same time, around the same table, the Privacy, Digital and IT teams with your service providers. Our studies have highlighted the fragmented knowledge of GDPR related topics by the different contributors.

To implement an effective strategy, your Privacy teams will have to get closer to the Digital and IT teams so that each entity and each contributor can have the same view on :

  • obligations, 
  • expectations, 
  • the limits, 
  • the possibilities,
  • the objectives.

As everyone has their own spectrum of understanding of regulations, it is essential to define a common repository for all (including providers) regarding Web and Web Apps environments.

Operators and providers: all responsible?

Remember that the Web & Web Apps operator is solely responsible for violations in the eyes of the regulations. Turning against a provider who did not do the job in compliance will not cancel anything and will be a source of frustration, loss of time, additional costs, and generally of rupture.

It is therefore fundamental to "embark" your service providers and subcontractors in development, digital, content or campaigns in your Data-Responsible approach. It will be virtuous and win-win for all.

This will allow you to:

  • Take stock of what you have mastered operationally in your digital stack;
  • be part of a virtuous circle;
  • speed up processes;
  • create a link.

It will be necessary for all to collaborate, inventory,analyze the risk, communicate, empower andact. After a few scoping meetings, a quarterly follow-up will be more than sufficient.

Frequent automated checks

Automated, tool-based analysis of Web and Web App environments and their interactions is the only way to actively prevent infringement risks, engage contributors and secure high trust scoring for better visitor consent.

The nature, the multiplicity and the frequency of updates are only 3 of the reasons for the breakdown of compliance andefficiency of data tracking. The CMP (or Consent Management Platform) does not solve this problem because it is simply not its role.

Ensure GDPR compliance

It is therefore essential toanalyze the GDPR compliance of sites and Web Apps on the 59 identified criteria, and this at a frequency related to that of updates, content publications, campaigns, etc.

Depending on the nature of the sites, this should be done on a monthly, weekly, daily, or even more frequent basis for Marketplaces and e-commerce or Media sites. A good practice to know is the implementation of automated analysis from the development phase to the operation, through staging and pre-production.

This will allow you to:

  • have real-time monitoring of changes and risks related to updates;
  • alert the different contributors of a situation to be fixed (what, why, where, how) ;
  • activate a targeted proactive maintenance at a lower human and financial cost;
  • to record, to prove the method and the means in case of control;
  • generate and maintain a high confidence score;
  • communicate to regain consent.

In short, being Data-Responsible

Keep your goal in your sights: conversion. Personalization, data, the Data TrackingThe process of obtaining consent is only one step in achieving the goal. However, if only one of these steps is not validated, the objective will be missed.

And the first of the "checkpoints" is precisely consent.

Guaranteeing compliance with the GDPR and building a high trust index means establishing proof for your visitors that you are a Data-ethical & responsible company. For them, it's the assurance that they can give their consent with confidence and benefit from a better experience while respecting their privacy. For you, it is the possibility to have more qualified data in the respect of the GDPR, thus better possibilities of personalization, optimization and conversion.

Want to learn more about GDPR compliance and data security? 

You will also like...

S’abonner à la Newsletter

Don't miss any Data On Duty content and stay up to date with all the latest Data Privacy and Data Governance news!

Contact

Data Tracking : à vous la responsabilité et le consentement

L’auteur

Eric Dumain

Thème(s)

Publié le

05-10-2021

5 minutes

Data Tracking : à vous la responsabilité et le consentement

Le levier majeur d’une stratégie Data-Responsable efficace est la volonté politique de l’entreprise de s’y engager de manière opérationnelle, prouvable et durable. Cela commence par la collecte de données sur les sites et Web Apps, autrement dit, le Data Tracking. De quoi s’agit-il ? Comment le mettre en place ? Voici nos astuces.

Rappel : être Data-Responsable

L’expérience montre que l’absence d’engagement politique au plus haut niveau de l’entreprise réduit les chances de traduire une ambition Data-Responsable opérationnellement et en bénéfices tangibles.

Les actes, les faits et les métriques sont essentiels à la preuve de l’engagement, et donc aux résultats. La communication sur la « Data-éthique & responsable » en est pleinement justifiée et renforcée. C’est le meilleur gage de satisfaction des besoins des clients, des équipes Privacy et des équipes Digitales.

Une politique de traitement conforme à la RGPD

Déployer un Data Tracking responsable signifie définir une stratégie de collecte des données sensibles (cookies, Tags & MarTechs) en totale conformité avec le RGPD. Et ce, selon les 3 modes de consentement : accepté, ignoré, rejeté.

La réglementation peut être segmentée en 59 points de mise en conformité sur 4 grandes catégories :

  • les technologies de tracking : présence, activation, désactivation
  • les cookies : setting, valeur, expiration, sécurisation 3rd party, partage
  • les données collectées : stockage, encryption, locales, sessions, leakage
  • le transport des données: https, http headers, referrer, CSP, STS, SRI, 3rd party

Être Data-Responsable 

Pour être Data-Responsable, vous devez être en mesure d’assurer le respect du consentement et la conformité au Règlement sur la protection des données dès lors qu’il est question d’une collecte de données ou de toute nouvelle mise en production. 

Un simple focus sur les cookies ne fait qu’effleurer le sujet. Ce contrôle s’applique à toutes les mises en production partielles. C’est d’ailleurs une bonne opportunité de traiter le sujet par étape, en ne mobilisant que légèrement la chaîne de contributeurs. Le but : garantir la continuité du fonctionnement des équipes pour le quotidien.

Aussi, il est fortement recommandé de contrôler la validité de ces pratiques sur la totalité de l’inventaire du parc existant de sites et Apps en production. C’est un indicateur évident d’infraction potentielle.

Ownership & information

Pensez à réunir au même moment, autour d’une même table, les équipes Privacy, Digital et IT avec vos prestataires. Nos études ont mis en évidence la connaissance parcellaire des sujets relatifs au RGPD par les différents contributeurs.

Pour mettre en place une stratégie efficace, vos équipes Privacy devront donc se rapprocher des équipes Digitales et IT afin que chaque entité et chaque contributeur puisse avoir la même vue sur :

  • les obligations, 
  • les attentes, 
  • les limites, 
  • les possibilités,
  • les objectifs.

Chacun disposant de son propre spectre de compréhension des réglementations, il est essentiel de définir un référentiel commun à tous (y compris aux prestataires) concernant les environnements Web et Web Apps.

Exploitants et prestataires : tous responsables ?

Rappelons que l’exploitant de sites Web & Web Apps est seul responsable des infractions aux yeux de la réglementation. Se retourner contre un prestataire qui n’a pas fait le job en conformité n’annulera rien et sera une source de frustrations, de perte de temps, de coûts additionnels, et généralement de rupture.

Il est donc fondamental « d’embarquer » vos prestataires et sous-traitants en développement, digital, contenu ou campagnes dans votre démarche Data-Responsable. Ce sera vertueux et gagnant pour tous.

Cela vous permettra de :

  • faire le point sur ce que vous maîtrisez opérationnellement dans votre stack digital ;
  • s’inscrire dans un cercle vertueux ;
  • accélérer les process ;
  • créer du lien.

Il sera nécessaire pour tous de collaborer, d’inventorier, d’analyser le risque, de communiquer, de responsabiliser et d’agir. Après quelques réunions de cadrage, un suivi trimestriel sera amplement suffisant.

Des contrôles fréquents automatisés

L’analyse outillée et automatisée des environnements Web et Web Apps et de leurs interactions est le seul moyen de prévenir activement les risques d’infractions, d’impliquer les contributeurs et de sécuriser un scoring élevé de confiance pour un meilleur consentement des visiteurs.

La nature, la multiplicité et la fréquence des mises à jour ne sont que 3 des raisons de rupture de conformité et d’efficacité du Data Tracking. La CMP (ou Consent Management Platform) ne règle en rien ce problème car ce n’est tout simplement pas son rôle.

Assurer la conformité RGPD

Il est donc essentiel d’analyser la conformité RGPD des sites et Web Apps sur les 59 critères identifiés, et ceci à une fréquence en rapport avec celle des mises à jour, des publications de contenus, des campagnes, etc.

Suivant la nature des sites, cela devra être réalisé à une fréquence mensuelle, hebdomadaire, quotidienne, voire plus pour des Marketplaces et sites e-commerce ou Media. Une bonne pratique à connaître est la mise en place d’analyses automatisées depuis les phases de développement jusqu’à l’exploitation, en passant par le staging et la pré-production.

Ceci vous permettra de :

  • disposer d’un contrôle des variations et des risques en temps-réel relativement aux mises à jour ;
  • alerter les différents contributeurs d’une situation à fixer (quoi, pourquoi, où, comment) ;
  • activer une maintenance proactive ciblée à moindre coût humain et financier ;
  • historiser, prouver la méthode et les moyens en cas de contrôle ;
  • générer et maintenir un scoring de confiance élevé ;
  • communiquer pour regagner le taux de consentement.

En bref, être Data-Responsable

Gardez bien votre objectif dans votre ligne de mire : la conversion. La personnalisation, la donnée, le Data Tracking, le consentement ne sont que des étapes dans l’atteinte de l’objectif. Pourtant, si une seule de ces étapes n’est pas validée, l’objectif sera manqué.

Et le premier des « checkpoints », c’est précisément le consentement.

Garantir la conformité au RGPD et se construire un indice de confiance élevé, c’est établir la preuve pour vos visiteurs que vous êtes une entreprise Data-éthique & responsable. Pour eux, c’est l’assurance de pouvoir donner leur consentement en toute confiance et de bénéficier d’une meilleure expérience dans le respect de leur vie privée. Pour vous, c’est la possibilité de disposer de plus de données qualifiées dans le respect de la RGPD, donc de meilleures possibilités de personnalisation, d’optimisation et de conversion.

Envie d’en savoir plus sur la conformité RGPD et la sécurisation des données ? 

Vous aimerez aussi…

S’abonner à la Newsletter

Ne manquez aucun contenu Data On Duty et soyez au courant de toutes les actualités Data Privacy et Data Governance !